Aracelly Mendoza


For many years, Aracelly was the first face everyone saw as they entered the front office of Jackson Magnet. She greeted everyone with a big smile and the simple words, "Welcome to Jackson Elementary School!" 


But, those five words were powerful! That first welcome won over everyone who visited, from parents and community members to PUSD administrators and staff. Always eager to help, she went over and beyond expectations to be sure that needs were met and that everyone left the office happy and impressed with Jackson's "now-well-known" hospitality towards all. 


Aracelly helped enormously as the school grew and her responsibilities became greater! She completed two jobs several times for extended periods when our office manager position was vacant. As a community, we cannot thank Aracelly enough for her steadfast support, commitment, eagerness to help, warmth, and love. We are forever grateful to her service and will always consider her part of our extended Jackson family!


-- Rita Exposito, Principal

Diego Fernandez


When we first conceptualized our "gala" fundraiser, we called around all of Pasadena and Altadena. The Jackson Annual Fund was in its infancy, and we were routinely hung up on, ignored, even admonished for asking businesses to help us. A sympathetic voice answering the phone at Doña Rosa led us to Diego Fernandez.

Diego , operating partner of El Cholo Cafe and Rose City Catering, is himself an Altadena resident and a longtime PUSD parent. He understood the need to support and fund raise for our public schools. He gave us his expertise and his ideas and hosted the first Fiesta on El Cholo's patio. He was our partner in truly establishing the Jackson Annual Fund Fiesta in 2015. Diego, El Cholo Cafe, and Rose City Catering have been partners with the Jackson Annual Fund ever since to throw the best party in town. We are so grateful for Diego's contribution to the Jackson community and are so proud to call him an honorary Jackson Dolphin!

-- Tina Pham, Jackson Annual Fund Co-Chair

Recognize this year's honorees with a suggested donation of $25 to Jackson's Annual Fund 


  • Xiomara Tovar

  • All City Orchestra from Pasadena Symphony & POPS


  • Liliana Awori

  • Kahlil Harrington

  • Victor & Irma Saldana


  • Perry Bennett

  • Esbeida Cardenas

  • Bill Creim

  • Maya Sharp


  • Leoncio and Maria Guerra

  • Delia Martinez